Devonian

By Mover

On the Road

I borrowed this book, which some contemporaries at school had read, from Long Eaton Public Library in 1962. I had some time before the bus home so I went into a cafe for a cup of tea and started to read. I can picture myself there now and remember the impact of those first pages. I was 16. It was the first novel I had chosen to read myself that wasn't for study or recommended by my Dad. It showed me a completely different world. It didn't send me on the road, but for a long time I read one book after another and never looked back. The jacket photograph of Jack Kerouac with his checked shirt was also memorable. The only red and black check shirt I could find was in the army and navy stores, and very poor quality but I wore it. I have tried to read it since but found it difficult, a period piece almost.
I found the film disappointing, difficult to follow, and with a poor sound quality. It was I think easily forgettable so it won't spoil my view of the book, which I may try and read again.

It was our first visit to the Barn Cinema Dartington which is a gem. Unlike other cinemas the adverts don't blast your ear drums. The cinema is in an old walled barn, in the grounds of Dartington Hall, in the country, and there was a big old moon and a starry sky. It made you want to get your notebook out and frenetically write down all your feelings about the magical night sky and our insignificance. I will probably always remember the night I saw On the Road.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.