Stanley Steamer 740D Coupe leaving Wheel Nuts 2018

I drove Helena at 8-30am to one of her places of work, St Rose's school, where the annual 'Wheel Nuts' car show was being held. It was raining lightly and the prognosis wasn't good. I returned in the afternoon to pick her up but arrived a little early so that I could have a quick look around at some of the special cars.

I took a few pictures in the rather dull light of dragsters, 1950s Jaguars, Maclaren sports cars, Armstrong Siddeleys, Jowetts and Wolseleys like my Dad had. The more modern and common British types included classic Alvis, Bristol, Morris Minors, original 1960s Minis, Triumphs, Vauxhalls and small sports cars such as MGs. 

There were a wide variety of American cars such as a Model T Ford, various Pontiacs and Oldsmobiles, Dodges and even a red Ford Fire truck. But most interesting was the Stanley Steamer 740D Coupe which I looked at when it was parked in the line-up. As we were preparing to leave, I saw it in the distant car park heading for the gate across the muddy field and aiming for the open road. I couldn't hear it because it is silent running on steam power!

Apparently it was made in 1922 in Newton, Massachusetts and takes 20 minutes to raise steam using diesel in some way to heat the water, using 1 gallon of water per mile. Once driving it has a range of 120 miles at speeds of more than 65 miles per hour, although its comfortable cruising speed is 45-50 mph.

I loved the way it glided away, as did these others who were lucky enough to see it go. Don't you just love those wooden wheel spokes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.