Sunshine and fun

I’d worked hard in the shop yesterday so I headed off to be a happy visitor at Packwood House (NT property that I love to visit in all weathers.)

I arrived only 20 minutes after they opened and the main car park was already full. It was a fabulous atmosphere - lots of families, several generations, loaded with picnic hampers, toys and smiles.

I rarely bother with the house and I just spent a delightful hour and a half wandering round the lake and through the woods.

It sounds silly, but I hadn’t realised how magnificent their bluebells are. My cheeky blip is of a couple of lovely teenagers dancing on a big log...well, why not. Carefree, happy, making the most of this gorgeous weather we’ve been patiently awaiting.

Very soon after this, I spotted and heard a commotion just in the trees to the left of the log. To my horror I saw a sparrow hawk swooping, chasing (and, I think, catching) a tiny bird. I didn’t get a photo...I was too wrapped up watching.

An ice cream (locally made and including “strawberries from the garden”) rounded off this happy visit rather nicely.

Enjoy your Bank Holiday, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.