Farewells

Despite being up early(ish) I was still behindhand when it came to getting ready to go to the funeral. Getting ready gave me a clear message - a really clear message which I will ignore at my peril. #2 son, as predicted, was even later but I was really glad he came.

The weather improved as we went West and we had the planned lunch on the way and then a couple of unplanned detours to get to Clydebank.

As expected there was a lot of emotion, but smiles and laughter as well - sadness and joy. The family did really well though, especially Jenny who read a poem and earned everyone's admiration.

The 'funeral tea' was at the Golf Club. The first tee has a beautiful view.
We talked to loads of folk. It was so strange to be with so many people that we spent such a joyous time with less than 3 weeks ago. Then we headed home in the dark and the rush hour traffic. #2 son criticised my driving the whole way, charming at first, hyper irritating after 90 minutes.

I got the first piece of good news from the bank today, but I need to keep these fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.