momcat1

By momcat1

Not a warbler

One of my most favorite birds. There are a lot of birds we love seeing - but these are one of my favorites. The smallest birds always seem to be the loudest. The chick a dee calls and yoo hoos (I know, the textbook answer is the yoohoo is supposed to sound like cheeseburger ?-seriously , my Aunt used to call them the Yoo Hoo birds) always make me laugh. I didn't see many at the feeder this winter , we usually have 5  or 6 . They do seem to like the apples also and were hanging out with the 2 remaining Tennessee warblers today. They need equal time. 
 Did you know there are 64 chickadees to a pound? That's correct . They weight 1/4 of an oz. Literal featherweights. 
There were 2 hummers in the trees too  but too far up to get a photo, and too fast for today's dark gray skies and dimmer light.Time to get the hummer feeder going!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.