Bit Better

Quite pleased with my outing to the range today. Think I made a bit of progress by the end.

The target is a 3" target, set at 7 yards, and I got a 2.5" grouping of 10. Take out the 3 stray ones and I'm 7 shots for 1.5", which is in the right direction. Quite pleased with my 4th effort.

Spent the time at the range trying out different grips and decided that the one I have to start with seems to be my most comfortable and my most accurate. Watched a small demonstration from the Range Master about holding the gun; trigger hand has a loose grip round the grip, and your second hand goes round your first hand and pulls the gun backwards, with your trigger hand you push forward and that locks the gun into place.

Erm, except it didn't - it just resulted in my gun wobbling all over the place, and the target placement bore out that test. So it seems to be a relaxed grip, a little bit of upward recoil and a bit of work on my recoil anticipation gets me on target.

The guys next to me brought out a small arsenal (small - 3 guns), but most interestingly, a Berreta 22 target pistol. The guy was just sighting a new red dot scope on it, but it's kinda what I want my second gun to be - cheap to buy, cheap to run, and accurate. Even better - he gave me a clip and the gun to have a play with. Noticeably lighter than my M&P, even to the point of too light almost, quite accurate (maybe a 3" grouping with the 8 shots), and nearly no recoil. Very nice to play with.

I also noticed something that the older guys at the range "what's that???"....hmmm...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.