Natland Mill Beck Lane

Most days when I'm in the office, I walk to Asda to get my lunch, and my preferred route is to go along Natland Milll Beck Lane. It passes alongside this field, which is beautiful in the sunshine although sometime soon it's going to be covered in houses. I'm taking a Buddhist approach, accepting it's transient nature and enjoying it while it lasts.

I left work sharpish this evening as Dan, Abi, and I were meeting Bob, his wife, and two of his children at Avanti for dinner, but Abi needed picking up from Carnforth station. I texted Dan before I left to say he needed to be home by quarter to six but when we got back, there was no sign of him.

The thing is, this sunny weather seems to have encouraged the Huckleberry Finn side of Dan's nature. He's always enjoyed going down to the river at the end of the summer term but at the moment he's down there most days. On top of that, he's just bought himself an inflatable dinghy with plans to travel down the Lune.

In the end, Abi and I went down to Avanti, met up with Bob's family, and Dan joined us about half an hour later, grinning and apologising and as charming as usual. 

And we had a great evening. I was proud of Dan and Abi, who were both on great form, but also I was delighted by how much they liked Bob and his family. For reasons I can't explain, I had been a bit anxious about us all meeting up - which I knew was daft, at least in theory - so it was lovely to see my worries were indeed unfounded. 

****
-13.0 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'The Underground Railroad'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.