Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New hat

Hottest day yet, and ripe for getting things done. Our guests set off into town to explore, and did a bus tour.

JR set off to her executive housekeeping stint, while Archie and I busied ourselves at home - we cut the grass, did a big washing, then attacked the front hedge. Tineke and Wim, in our absence, had kindly chopped away at it while we were away. But, being unsure if the other side of the hedge up to the communal stair door belonged to us, did half. Which looked a bit, well, silly.

I got the big ladder out, and the hedge clipper, and surprised myself by managing to do the whole lot, although I was really really hoping that JR would arrive back in time to take over. She didn’t. She arrived as I was wazzing the last few twigs... but in time to sweep up, so all good.

When the others came home, we all rested while JR took Archie out for a big walk. No, she didn’t go to the gym today, but she sure had a workout.

BBQ in the evening. This is the new sunhat that I bought in Lisbon. I had placed it on the grass while we had tea, and I suddenly became aware of the sound of crunching... perhaps, straw... Yes, Archie had decided to eat it. He didn’t have time to do much damage. Just as well, as it cost me €8. Though a friend told me they sell for £45 at Wimbledon.

Anyway, he agreed to pose in it, so I’ve forgiven him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.