Rooged Paets

A cloudy day and breezy.  It was warm through the day, but cooler tonight.

I've had a day off work, and up early and headed to the peat hill in the morning.  The afternoon was spent in the garden,  Peerie Brian has been taking down the old damp lum, while I was busy with the pressure washer.  I've washed down various concrete items, and also the garden chairs and benches, all ready for painting.  Short staffed in the museum as usual, and I've had to cover the desk tonight while the restaurant is open.  Hopefully finish early.

It's been weeks now since we last had any rain, and long may it last.  With the windy dry weather, the peats are drying quickly, and some are ready to take home.  Whilst I've been busy roogin the peats into new piles, the ones on the bottom of the previous piles are still wet and need a little longer in the hill to dry.  I'm trying to get them up and let the wind whistle through them.  This is a job I hated doing as a bairn, but doing it now seems more pleasant.  Sore on the old back, but also relaxing at the same time, maybe that's just being away from everything and alone in the hill.  Taken at Brunt Hamarsland.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.