Poor Puffins

A cloudy morning with sunny spells, and still windy.  The clouds cleared at lunchtime, and sunny the rest of the day. 

I've been working in the Croft House Museum all day.  It's been a steady day of visitors.  The afternoon was quieter, so gave me a chance to build up the peat stack.  This evening I've been at my own peat hill.  Busy turning and raising the peats into bigger rooges to help dry them.  Off to work in the pub later.

I read a article in the Guardian the other day, and it described the eerie silence due to a lack of puffins in Shetland this year.  I went down for a look at lunchtime, and I was faced with the eerie silence, it wasn't good.  I only saw five puffins, possibly ones were out feeding, but even if they were, there should still be hundreds on the cliffs also.  I hope it's not anything serious, and they return late or again next year, but in the meantime, it's a serious worry.  Hopefully won't be my last puffin picture at Sumburgh Head.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.