a w a y

By PoWWow

Rastasjon, Solna

(La la la) - an apt song to accompany the occasion.

"Well the bitter winds are coming in, and I'm already missing the summer. Stockholm's cold but I've been told, I was born to endure this kind of weather..."

mmmmm what a nice song. (if not a really disappointing video..)

It's grey, cold and bleak. Barely three p.m and already the light is fading for the day. Beautiful singing fills my ears as I take to the suburbs of Solna, smiling as I've crawled from the cosy home of my grandparents and walking quickly because I can't wait to get back. It's the kind of light on this cold afternoon that feels so atmospheric and thought inducing because I am tapping into it for a short relishing spell, but similarly I can also understand why suicide rates in Sweden soar at this time of year. Not a single person that I said "HEJ" to as I passed around the vast waters of the lake returned my smile or greeting, this trait is such a shame in Scandinavians, I could never live here for that reason. But it kind of made me want to gleam my wonky smile a little bit more. I got lost round the dusky suburbs on my approach back to the warm appartment where soon it would time for my grandfather to begin pouring Manhattens, but I was happy because it also meant I got to relish in the Autumn shudder a little bit more, safe in the knowledge that there would be my family gathered about in comfy chairs and enjoying their first slurps of the engulfing cocktail and beginning on some cosy half-English half-Swedish chitty-chatter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.