a w a y

By PoWWow

Håkan

My uncle was killed in a car accident on Boxing Day, 12 years before I was scheduled to meet him. I love to imagine the possibilities that would so handsomely exist, should that tragedy never have happened.

It was All Saints day in Sweden so we decided to visit the grave at dusk where thousands of people were hunched over in the cold and lighting candles for people that they no longer had in their lives. I couldn't have ever imagined how beautiful a cemetery could look, but there flickering in the dying light were a zillion long lost thoughts, swelling with sodden eyes and dwelling on what could have still been.

I squinted my gaze at the surrounding miles of illuminations and devoted my entire soul to my long lost dear friend Beth and wondered where she was. I hope so much that there has been something more for her, but I do know that the world is so much worse off for not having her around anymore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.