a w a y

By PoWWow

Looking for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

It was something I had been meaning to do for a great while...The crashingly cobbled + steep streets of Södermalm had been waiting for this intrusion for some time. I've read all of the books at least two times over each and won't dare to care to admit to how many screenings of the various versions of each film I've enjoyed, but a visit to the sightings mentioned within the great Swedish thriller has been on my Ambitions Agenda List for the last 10 visits to this great moose moving place.

There was some surprise late afternoon sun + I took to the routes that I'd attempted to memorise in my mind; Mikael Blomkvist's House, The Kvarnen Pub, Lisbeth's Appartment, The Most Beautiful View of Stockholm, The Place where he Posts a Letter, The Coffee House, The 7-11 where Lisbeth buys her frozen pizzas from.. I didn't indulge one speck of shame as I papped away at famously underwhelming sights on street corners + between parked cars and was delighted to see a few other giddy goats relishing in the same trail as I, gawping at grocery stores as if they're a religious shrine and shotting repeated looks in every direction trying to figure out where the film cameras were pointing when they shot this scene and that other one. And when the glow over the water ladened city ran low, it was time to hunker on down in a cosy little pub, [potentially, I liked to think, opposite Blomkvist's pad] + buy an extortionate 69 kronor pint of weisse beer to watch a Swedish folk band fiddle their way through the early evening.

Next time, I'm thinking, next time I'll come with Dan my man, on bikes and equipped with a map, and do the whole damn tour. For those who might happen to be reading this drivel, who haven't yet discovered the thrilling delicious delight of the Millenium Series, I would highly suggest that you begin delving into your read of the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.