Snow on St Paul's

Snow, snow, snow, snow, snow... Brilliant!

Whisky woke us up regularly throughout the night to express his wonder at the white stuff with a 'Miaow?!!?' Shortly after breakfast it was clear that getting to work was going to be a challenge. My mobile was pinging with messages from colleagues caught in the snow, the news said that all London buses were suspended (eh?!) and the national rail system had ground to a halt in South London. Hmm.

Not one to be deterred by a foot of snow, I donned waterproofs and walking boots, and headed out into the snow to walk the 6 miles to work. Why? Well, I've only 10 days left of being employed and I wasn't going to let the snow keep me from completing the books I want to finish before I leave. It has to be said that if I hadn't been made redundant, I think I would have stayed at home and not felt so determined to go to the office. As it was, I had great fun seeing the smiles on the faces of Londoners as I passed them grinning and jumping into snow drifts. I've never seen so many snowmen being manufactured, or snowball fights in progress - both adults and kids equally in the snow-fun. There were skiers in Brockwell Park, and even a skier in Covent Garden!

At work, only a handful of staff had braved the journey. Among them were three of us redundantees, We looked at each other, shrugged, then smiled.

More London in snow here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.