Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Water of Leith, Stockbridge

A relatively short ride today. Its out along the coast to Aberlady. It starts off cloudy, but as I turn inland, the clouds clear away, and I am cycling in lovely sunshine. So the jacket comes off. I head past the Hopetoun Monument, quite a climb, then descend to Haddington.

From Haddington, I cycle along the A6093 to Pencaitland, turn right toward Tranent. Once through New Winton, I turn left over Whiteloch Bridge, through Buxley and North Elphinstone to Elphinstone. I follow the B road across Crossgatehall, but turn on to the cycle route to Dalkeith. The sun goes behind some clouds, and the Pentland Hills and Arthur's Seat look hazy. As I cycle through Dalkeith, the sun reappears.

I head home through Eskbank, onto Melville Rd, the A772. At the Drum St roundabout, to avoid road works, I turn on to Gilmerton Station Rd, the follow Lasswade Rd to Captains Rd and Frogston Rd to Fairmilehead and home.

The route can be seen here.

In the afternoon, my partner and I go down to Stockbridge to visit the charity shops and for afternoon coffee and cake. As I didn't get a blip this morning, My blip is of the Water of Leith from Stockbridge bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.