Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Ladies who coffee...

Awoke to Obama's acceptance speech on the Today programme. That was a good start to the day. Although some may disagree.

I love being retired. Have I mentioned that before? Today, with nothing pressing in the morning, and an afternoon meeting postponed till tomorrow, I lay abed and watched Imagine - and interview with Ian Rankin. I also watched Only Connect. This is a very clever games show like no others. And I hate game shows! Yes, I did put the electric blanket on for a wee while. Such luxury.

Off to the afternoon £2 movies with a big bag of Maltesers. Can life get much better?

I went to see Rust and Bone. It was long. Somebody kept yawning very noisily, then presumably fell asleep. But it was excellent. A bit graphic and hard to watch at times, and in one scene towards the end I just suddenly burst out sobbing. That has never happened before. If you go to see it, you'll know which scene it is. You'll know as soon as the scene starts...

The lead actress is Marion Cotillard, who played Edith Piaf in La Vie en Rose (a film I didn't like, but she WAS Piaf). In this film - and I'm not spoiling it for you, that's the story - she loses both legs beneath the knees. How on earth did they film that???? I was ready for them while she was on the hospital - legs stuffed down a hole in the bed - but she got up! I was ready for the body double. No. How did they film that?

On the way to the cinema I spotted these two ladies who lunch. Or ladies who coffee, anyway. I had to blur the background because several cars, and me, were reflected in the window. But I did like the purple pig.

How DO they film an actress with two legs playing a woman with no legs beneath the knees??

EDIT: I've just looked it up. Green stockings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.