Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The EBAS? I didn't know there was one...

A mini blipmeet at My Club with rosie320d. Mini pastries this time. And rosie320d didn't partake, so I had two.

She was impressed with the facilities, - once she had negotiated the fences trying to stop people coming in - (actually part of the herding of pedestrians round the tramworks). She may become a member... I should be on commission.

Had an amble through the park after the chinwag. I spotted a bench dedicated to John Lennon, from the Edinburgh Beatles Appreciation Society. I always spot something new when I wander round town.

There are lots and lots more little wooden crosses by the Scott Monument. I did have a shot with them in the foreground the castle (with the cannon from yesterday) in the background, but the castle was so dark and featureless, and the sky so white and featureless, I didn't use it.

I'm usually never ready for squirrels. I never have any nuts, and so they have no reason to hang around me, but this little fella stopped long enough for me to get a quick shot. But it was quite dark under the foliage. I took one with a flash, but it was no good. I had a fiddle with it in Snapseed, and added a bit of 'drama' and toned down the saturation so that it was almost B&W. He does look a bit drookit.

I sat beside a 91 year old lady on the way home. She was reading the paper, so of course I did my usual opening, 'It's all bad news, isn't it'. She'd lived in Edinburgh all her life, with a couple of stints away with her soldier husband, and was lamenting the changes. She was saying how many foreigners were in the city now, and I thought she meant that was a good thing, and I enthused that I liked them all coming to look at our city and spend money, but she didn't mean it like that. It became a wee bit awkward as she did a rant about foreign beggars etc etc. I was almost tempted to get off well before my stop, but laziness prevailed. But we agreed on how amazingly tolerant and polite the bus drivers were!

I'll have to be more careful when chatting to sweet little old ladies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.