Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

The Ladies' Model

In 1893, A wonderful little brochure type book was printed on Handiwork.
It was called: 
The People's Handbook Series
The Ladies' Model
Fancy Work Manual

I came across a rewritten pattern made by someone called Sandi Marshall in 2006. This simple yet lovely pattern is the centre part of a bigger doily called "Crocheted Wheel for Tidy"! I wonder what a 'tidy' was in  1893?
The extra is a photo of the original vintage booklet.

This is my latest crochet project and it came in extremely useful for today as I had a very silly fall last night on my evening walk! I spied some beautiful roses in someone's front garden, went down a hill to take some photos and BAM! I skidded on some gravel and fell down headlong. Result: a bleeding right knee, torn jeans (the things I do to become fashionable!) A sprained left ankle and left thumb and a bleeding right hand. What a sight! I didn't know whether to laugh or cry! I managed to hobble back home (luckily only five minutes' away) and applied all the first aid necessary for the situation!

Please excuse me for not visiting or commenting all your yesterday's photos, and maybe for a day or two as well, as typing is still painful.

I never knew that photography could be so dangerous!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.