CharlieBrown

By CharlieBrown

Action ... part 2

I thought momentum might help.
I thought I had factored in various possibilities, various possible objectives, either things to aim for or hooks that had the potential of being anchors that would provide direction and harbours en route.
Having just managed to scrape to first base I thought it would work as a catalyst to propel me on.
I guess all scientists would tell you that theory is all very well but it isn’t until it’s tested that we know how things will work in reality.

Before long I was thinking I should just head home.
I stopped at services to try to firm up my destination and downloaded some things to listen to including the Reith lecture.
It was a long, hot slog but I ended up at this spot. I swam.
You could order fresh warm croissants for breakfast. I did and was struck by the heart. I decided to book another night. I walked and swam again.
However, I was torn then by a commitment to press on and again set off but again just wanting to go home. The journey was done almost entirely in tears with constant urge to give up. But I’m a long way now. It would be crazy to not call on my friend at this point. Although I had thought of going somewhere new I made for the same spot that we always came to and that I came back to last year. I’m here now. 4th July - a year on in the same place and no better, probably worse. Agitated and amongst happy campers. At least the weather is dull. I’m sure holidays aren’t supposed to be quite such an ordeal.

Anyway, my point being, action, inaction, decision, indecision or no decision....all of it seems to be a minefield with an explosion ready to go at every turn. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.