Blooming!

Up early to do the hens and tackle the next brassica bed! Couldn't believe how easy it was to dig the bed over! No raspberry roots to dig out, hardly any stones - an absolute breeze! It is a bed I've worked in the past and it had been covered since winter. So next load of purple sprouting in, cage erected in no time, although covering it with the netting took a little longer! Plus I had to keep chasing cabbage whites out! 
Having done this in record time I then pootled around on the allotment. Everything is looking so good - all the roses blooming magnificently, as are the cosmos and verbena, and the first sweet peas are opening! The poppies still in flower and the exotic ones I planted as seed turning into healthy plants! The desert gooseberries and  blueberries are ready to pick, the blackcurrants nearly ready and the peas are producing fat little pods, beans and squash flowering so hopefully courgettes of all shapes and colours should be coming my way! Hopefully a cucumber or two as well! The spinach and lettuce and beetroot are coming on and my climbing squashes begining to climb and my tomatillos coming into flower in my chicken run protected bed! It reminds me of Mr McGregors garden for some reason! Well it seems to have kept that fiendish rabbit out! 
I'm so happy with how my plot is coming on this year - and so much happier now the weather has got back to normal temperatures and I can be out doing stuff on my plot - and of course  having cuddles with the hens and playing the egg hunt game! Only mishap was stinging my forehead on a tall nettle as I was bending over to pick raspberries for them and me! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.