Losing the battle - memories win!

I have been trying to reduce the number of books I have. A couple of weeks ago I took a trolley of them to Oxburgh for their second-hand bookshop and there is bigger trolley load in the garage for the charity shop. So far, so good!
In the bookshop at Oxburgh there were some books I was temped to buy - but resisted.
I was in there again today, they were still there - so I bought them!
It was a complete set of 10 volumes of 'The Children's Encyclopaedia' by Arthur Mee. When I saw them I was immediately transported back 70 years to the time when my love of books and learning started. My parents bought these for me (and my brother, I suppose, but he was only 1 at the time) and I spent many hours reading them and learning how to look things up. I had to wash my hands and sit at the table before using them, never write in them, turn the pages down, lay them open face down, or otherwise abuse them - habits that stay with me to this day.
I had a spare shelf in the bookcase - half of it is full again!
(The whole set only cost £13 !! )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.