CharlottesWorldWideWeb

By CharlotteJ

Pompei

We left the coast early and made our way quicker than we expected to Pompei. The owner of the B&B made contact yesterday and offered for us to park our car at the B&B so we took her up on the offer and she didn’t mind the time!  The B&B is right next door to the ruins and after being welcomed like old friends right in the middle of preparing breakfast for other guests, the owner, Martina, then spent time with us giving advice on where to go and the best entrance to avoid the crowds to the ruins.  We were at the ruins by 9am and it was already 29 degrees.  We pretty much had the place to ourselves until we got to the ‘main’ entrance.  What an incredible place!  I am so pleased I have finally made it to Pompei to see it.   We have spent most of the day there and then walked into the main square for a cool drink.  By chance we found a 24hr American Bar, owned by Italians who have a screen up with the football on.  Chris said he was OK not watching it if I wanted to explore the city a bit more but to be honest with the heat as it is, I am quite pleased to be sitting down and having a cool drink!! And I think secretly Chris wanted to watch the footie.  I have my laptop with me so it’s a good opportunity to blip.  Later tonight we will go out for dinner.  Tomorrow we fly back to Gatwick and head straight to Hong Kong!  Tomorrows blip may be of LHR!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.