Lenore

By Lenore

Horse trials

I took the boys to our local horse trials this morning, about 3 minutes away in the car.  Was quite a big event, I really wasn't sure how it would all go down - horse trials for the boys, or me and the boys for the competitors.  To my utter surprise, the boys were happy to sit still for about an hour and a half watching the show-jumping (dressage was always going to be a non-starter and cross-country way to hectic to even entertain).  This feat did include them tucking into their morning snack of apricots, then most of the lunch I had made to take with us, all by 10am.... 

Lesson of the day involves apricots, public events and port-a-loo's….   The apricots did their business, then the boys did, a couple of times.  This involved holding open the port-a-loo door whilst helping the eldest do what he needed to do (for ages!) and trying to make sure the youngest didn't run away. It was all rather comical.   The youngest had to go home sans-nappy as I'd run out of them. It certainly signalled going home time. 

Photo has an annoying orange line through it of the fence - I daren't have got any closer in case the boys followed, which could have been a disaster.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.