twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

On Saturday last week I bought a new tent, nothing fancy. On Sunday I  cleaned both hers and my boots. On Monday I looked out Landranger 1:50000 sheet 33 (Loch Alph,  Glen Shiel & Loch Hourn) and read Walk Highlands, the SMC book, Cameron McNeish  ((The Munros) and the Cicerone book too.
Tuesday we batted logistics back and forth by email; an etd of 1645 was agreed. She booked G in for a sleepover at Lara's.
Wednesday I dug out the sleeping bags and rucksack and stove and fuel. 
Thursday I made soup - tomato chorizo lentil - to take with us on Saturday / for Sunday
Friday was a day of checking forecasts, digging out the compass,  finding insect repellant,  sorting out attire and to a greater extent getting it all to hers ready for the off.
Saturday we got 7 miles into the 163 and got a flat; no spare; the pump with foam thing failed spectacularly so 2 hours later, we were back at hers, Al was still by the roadside and we bought a couple of beers and sat in the sunshine of the Meadows and dreamed of what might have been. 


Arse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.