Shopping at Lowe's

I first learned my sister had cancer the night before leaving for Japan, almost three years ago. I felt like she was with me the entire trip: I'd tell her things, point out things, consider what her take would be on things. I thought a lot about cancer, life, death, civilization, pollution, technology, all through my astonished eyes and aching heart. What causes the disease? What cures it?
Japan was amazing. One morning, we walked through the Palace gardens in Tokyo, a place of calm and perfection. We watched a gardener crouched to the ground trimming grass along a sidewalk with scissors - earning a living wage with scissors!
Crowded all around were tall, sleek buildings that didn't overpower the garden, but showcased it. The old gardens rejuvenated, the new buildings excited.
To think of what humans have accomplished, and what we have caused. Could it be that what caused the cancer would also cure it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.