Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

End of the Lyne

A bit cloudy for my Sunday morning ride, a 50 mile route. It feels quite warm as I head out of Edinburgh to the Seafield Rd, Bush, and the A701 through Penicuik, and left on on to the Moor road at Ravensneuk.

The Moor Road is a lovely minor road, quite high, and excellent views of the Pentland Hills and brings me to West Linton (I am following my route anti-clockwise as there is a SW wind) From West Linton, I cycle south along Bogsbank Rd To the A701, left to Romannobridge and right on to the B7059. I am following the Lyne Water south through Newlands to the A72. 

Turnign left,I followthe road as it winds along the valley to Hallyne, and right on to the B712 for a short while, before turn left on to minor road. I stop at Lynesmill Bridge (Lyne Station) to get my blip. A reblip of Lyne Water just before it enters the River Tweed. The old railway bridge will hopefully form part of a new cycle path from Peebles to Broughton.

From Lyne, its up to the A72, then Meldon foot and the road through the Meldons to Eddleston, along the A703 to the Falla Toll road to the B6372 (Top Gear Road), which I follow over Mount Lothian, down through Pomathorn to Penicuik, and then back to home through Penicuik, Bush, Seafield Moor Rd and Hillend.

The whole ride can be seen at Relive here.

in the afternoon, its down to Newington to visit the charity shops. Not much to see, and it doesn't take long before we are heading for coffee. (although I do get a nice set of computer gaming headphones) On the way I take the Extra photo of Alison House in Nicholson Square, home to the Reid School of Music. Nice to see the "Wholesale Importer and Manufacturer" of a multitude of things is still visible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.