Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Lyne Valley

The sun seems to have disappeared for Sunday morning. It also sounds very windy. As it is a SW wind, I take the same route that I did last week. So the first bit is in to the wind, along Seafield Rd then out through Penicuik, and then on to the moor road to West Linton. The clouds are very dark. I am hoping it doesn't start to rain as I do not have a jacket.

Then its through Bogsbank to Romannobridge, then on to the B7059. Just through Newlands, I stop to get my blip of the day. The main blip is looking south and down river. The hills on the right give a bit of cover from the wind. The Extra shows Newlands, with the old church.

I then carry on south along the B road to the A72, east to the Stobo road. I turn left on to minor road. This takes me through Lyne Station, the location of last Sunday's blip. The sun makes an appearance.

From Lyne Station, its up to the A72, then Meldonfoot and the road through the Meldons to Eddleston, The wind is now assisting me up the hills. Along the A703 to the Falla Toll road to the B6372 (Top Gear Road),  and a side wind. I follow over Mount Lothian, down through Pomathorn to Penicuik. There are more clouds from here, but nothing too bad. Then it's back home through Penicuik, Bush, Seafield Moor Rd and Hillend. Definitely "Volare con il vento". it doesn't take long to get home from Lyne Station, and the ride is only a tad slower than last week.

The whole ride can be seen at Relive here

In the afternoon, we go to to a craft fair at Out of the Blue. It's very quiet as the Wimbledon Mens' Final, World Cup Final and the Edinburgh Festival Carnival. However, it was much busier earlier in the day.

Afternoon coffee is at Starbucks for a change. We get a nice window seat. Then its to Sainsburys to get some extra shopping before heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.