bananablip

By bananablip

Snow-done

Today I walked up Snowdon with Peter Ooi from Malaysia, Michael, who I went to Malaysia with and some of Peter's host family.

I left home, ever the optimist, at 5.50am wearing shorts, tshirt and sunglasses. And sun cream in my bag.

We got to Pen-y-pas and it started to drizzle and then we had 3 hours of hiking in the rain. Soaked through to the skin on reaching the cafe at the top, warmed up slightly with a hot chocolate and then that disgusting task of putting wet clothes back on. And then another 3 hours of hiking in the rain.

It was pretty flipping brilliant though. I've only ever done Snowdon in the sun before and so today's experience was totally different. So wild and dramatic.

Michael was absolutely brilliant as our guide. He turns 70 at the end of the year and yet he was up that hill like a mountain goat, stopping every so often with a fact or an interesting story for us. I hope I'm still bounding up mountains when I'm sixty-nine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.