Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Goodbye Pacific

We had a wonderful drive down the coast past Florence stopping at deserted beaches and jaw dropping vistas, very like the drive south from Monterey just not quite as foggy.

We saw plenty of seals and sea lions then we were rewarded with maybe twenty elk right next to the road as we turned inland. We’ve had a drive south through spectacular countryside and arrived at our lodge for tonight. There are wildfires just west of here, we could see the smoke as we drove in but it’s not affecting air quality here. We’ve an osprey nest outside - sadly I didn’t bring my zoom but I’ll try and catch a shot with the little compact later. Dinner and wine are calling, then if we are lucky we might see Crater Lake tomorrow - fingers crossed for a clear view, the fires have been so bad around there for the last couple of weeks.

Last night I met a whole host of cousins, it was really lovely and I feel sad to leave them all behind - see extras for a group shot.

Edit - I’ve added a couple extras of the wildfire sky. And we are sleeping in a log cabin tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.