The Sun Inn

My friend Shelagh once wrote that the best surprise about Twitter was making lots of new friends at a time when it seemed that part of your life was over. (This is old, pre-cesspit Twitter that she was referring to, of course.) And that has been my experience, too; without Twitter I wouldn’t have met the Minx, Shelagh, Dom, Gibbzer, Simon, Chris, Kerry, Helen, Jon and Lou, David Callaghan… the list goes on and on.

And those friendships improve with time, of course, as do the friendships that didn’t start on social media. There’s something very relaxing about an evening with old friends and I have known Chris and Janice for, by my reckoning, about twenty-five years. 

I don’t think the phrase ‘familiarity breeds contempt’ can apply to good friendships, quite the reverse in fact. As you learn the nuances of people’s characters, I think they become more interesting and the laughs you have are stronger and deeper. 

Tonight we had drinks at the Sun Inn and - in a swerve from our usual food destination (the curry house) - we ate at the Royal Hotel, which was very good. You know, I’m lucky enough to do lots of things I enjoy, but nothing beats the pleasure of an evening out with good friends. 

****
-12.8 kgs
0 words
‘A History Of Seven Killings’ by Marlon James

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.