Raindrops keep falling....

Mr U&L and I went to Iping common today to look for insects. I was really sad to find that most of the insects I would usually see were simply not there....everywhere the vegetation was dry and stunted despite yesterday's welcome rainfall and only a few of the usual plants were making a feeble attempt to flower, even the pond which would normally be alive with dragonflies was all but dry with cow pats in it where the cattle had walked across it in an effort to find water.
In the more wooded area it was still damp after the deluge yesterday and I found this newly-hatched Harlequin ladybird sporting  rather attractive lines of water droplets on it's elytra walking up a twig, and I just knew it had to be my blip as it looked so unusual, and to be fair would probably been my blip even if the place had been teeming with insects! I have also added a shot of a very greedy crab spider in my extras, when I found her she was trying to carry this huge fly off to her lair - good luck with that little spider! 
Back at the car a lady warned us several cars in the car park had been broken in to last week....than goodness they didn't try that with my lovely new car - I would have been heartbroken!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.