Cemetery project continued.....

Mr U&L had to attend a funeral at the local cemetery today, and as he asked me to take him, I took the chance to meander around the older part of the cemetery and take some more shots for my talk later in the year.
Sadly they had finally cut some of the wonderful undergrowth that grows on and around the old graves, which was a shame, but it did cause the insects that had been living there to seek refuge in the few remaining plants. I saw several shield bugs, and numerous crickets and grasshoppers.
This beauty hiding in the lavender bush (along with several sloe bugs) is a male Speckled bush cricket Leptophyes punctatissima , probably our commonest bush cricket it can be found from the midlands south from late July right through the autumn to November.
This lavender bush was home to at least 4 males and 2 females, so I figure we might have a good population next year too!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.