The 'unknown' bulb's flowers

Four of the bulb's flowers have come out within two days of the first one appearing. I call it an 'unknown' bulb as I only remember buying it from a box of remaindered bulbs at a garden centre near Cheltenham. I then forgot to plant it and only discovered it this spring when I put it into a large plant pot to see what happens.

I'm now delighted and much more appreciative of such bulbs' potential to delight. I have been watering it and put it outside on the patio when the weather warmed up in June. As I've watered it I observed it had added more somewhat crinkly long leaves, which somer slugs then chewed on.

Then a few days ago I looked more closely and saw that a long flower stem had formed very quickly and several buds appeared. Within a couple of days the first of seven flowers emerged and I blipped it two days ago when a hoverfly landed on it. Now four of the flowers are fully open and another is unfurling. Two more to come. 

I fear the flowers will close up just as quickly so I decided to blip it today as we go on holiday on Saturday and will miss its full glory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.