Old Scatness

A really windy day, gales been bowing all day long.  Some showers and mostly cloudy, but some fine warm sunny spells. 

It's meant to be my weekend off, but instead, I'm working at the Croft House Museum.  I had a busy morning with visitors, and a quieter afternoon.  Most people today stayed a long while with me.  Walkies with Sammy around Scalloway this evening, but mostly a lazy evening at home.  Felt a bit cooler tonight, so the fire is roaring, wood burning only.

It's been a few years since I was last at this site, and the sun was out during my lunch break.  The old Scatness site is mostly made up of iron age houses, and a broch that stands 4m high.  Discovered when they built a new road for the airport 40 odd years ago.  My imagination often runs away at sites like this, and be great to be able to travel back and see how it all worked.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.