Nanou in Anjou

By nanou

Bazouges Castle

I'm not too keen on taking such pictures (so many blippers being so good at them) but I realize that I've named myself Nanou in Anjou without ever showing you the pleasant and historical surroundings nearby.
The historical background of Anjou is so rich and complex that I wouldn't dare to launch into tangled explanations, let alone the difficulties due to the translation.
However, here's a lovely little Renaissance castle (first building dating back to middle-ages), located on the bank of the river Loir without e, not to be confused with the most well-known Loire, of wich it is an affluent.
It has played a strategic role at various occasions when the safety of the whole area was threatened, has become a private property over the years and is likely to be transformed into a museum.
I particularly love its small and elegant proportions that make it appear like a Grimm fairy tale castle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.