Better Days

Well the gentle laxative had an explosive result in the morning so another day spent very quietly. Come the afternoon I sorted the clothes in the spare room into several piles - to be kept, to be taken to a clothes bank, to a charity shop, to the sell for second hand shop and for France Dweller! I felt a twinge at a few items - the waistcoats from my grandfather, the vintage dress and coat I wore clubbing at college, the faux fur coat I used to wear when being a monster in sensory drama sessions at school. My favourite was being Nian for the Chinese New Year, with a face mask and monster gloves I would advance on a child who would be helped to shake a red scarf and play a noisy musical instrument to frighten me away! It's strange how we / I  invest so much in articles of clothing, especially when they are no longer wearable due to age, wear and tear. It's not the clothes themselves I  want to cling on to, but the memories of the times and people they evoke. Writing this I think maybe I will photograph the items to save the memories. I can see why people made quilts out of such things so they became a memory quilt. I think the material in my clothes would not make for a very fetching quilt given the different materials. 
As the day went on so my stomach grew - by the eve I felt like John Hurt in Alien - my stomach so large and taut it felt like it would burst. I'd had potato soup with kale for lunch - maybe the kale was a bit of a mistake. I decided to forgo dinner as I didn't think my stomach could possibly fit more food in - I had burped at one point and had the taste of sick in my mouth. I contemplated another laxative but decided my system was best left unassaulted. Just more peppermint tea and bed seemed the best option. At this point I realised I'd not taken a photo - so here is a broken stem from a multi headed sunflower from my allotment! I think it is called Autumn, which is rather apt as there is a chill in the eveningss and dusk is falling earlier, no longer a 10 O'clock bedtime for the hens, it's now 8.30! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.