Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Getting Close

It isn't an abstract painting.

I did say I would try a macro today. These are the gills of a Portobello mushsroom I bought in the supermarket this morning. This is taken at x4. I boosted the light as much as I could as I wanted to use as small an aperture as possible to avoid photostacking. It seems to have worked quite well considering even the dogs walking on the floorboards are enough to vibrate the camera! I'd need a cement base to get this any clearer.

The white on top of the gills are the spore ducts. The lens will take up to x5 but without an appropriate stand at hand the lens hits the table surface before it can focus.

No work tonight so am off to join some friends for an evening fundraising for Children in Need.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.