PollenandSula

By PollenandSula

Hike to the Col de San Carlos

A long walk up into the mountains today. From the campsite 45000 steps - and for anyone who doesn't count steps that's a lot - especially the ones up the last bit of scree to the col at just over 2000 m.

It was well worthwhile though, for the scenery, wildlife and flowers as well as peacefulness. Early on three horse riders overtook me, higher up a 4WD went by on an improbable bit of track, I wondered what extreme event he was training for. And the only other people I saw all day were a couple of hikers in the distance from the col while I was picnicking.

At the first small pass literally dozens of griffon vultures circled close over my head. All day brown and green lizards darted across the path. Dropping back down from the high col a group of Rebeco or chamois were sat cooling off on a snow patch. Magic.

Now I'm relaxing with a celebratory beer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.