Mont Vorassay

Is the sharp pointy* peak to the right & was today's target. It stands at 2303m, by any usual standard a very respectable summit. So the steep start of the Aiguille de Tricot to its left, which then rises to become the spectacular Aiguille de Bionnassay (extra 1) shows, I think, just how soaring the peaks of the central massif really are.

Discovering there were cancellations to the late afternoon Mont Blanc Tramway schedules I should have altered my plan but, well, meh.
Instead I decided to simply get as far as I could before I knew I had to turn back, which turned out to be the best sort of plan. In the end I made it with minutes to spare, a good hour ahead of guidebook time, and only a few twinges late on. I can feel my mountain fitness returning and that has some psychological benefits too.

Extra 2 is for The Shepherdess. Cows and goats are common in the alpine pastures round here, sheep much less so. But this mum and lamb seemed very content (& friendly) at the Col du Tricot.

* correct technical term

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.