Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

This is just a tiny section of the timber yard which surrounds the office. It has its own quayside where ships arrive from Sweden and it has a fixed crane for lifting the cargo out of the ships. Fork-lift trucks whizz about all day long carting timber back and forth. Unwrapped timber is stacked close to the quayside. At some stage it gets wrapped, labelled and bar-coded and then it is stacked farther away from the quayside and closer to my office.

Trucks pull in and are loaded up with wrapped, labelled and bar-coded timber which presumably they deliver elsewhere. Isn't it lucky for Britain that Sweden can't wrap, label or barcode it's timber itself, otherwise these people would have nothing to do.

It's also very lucky that I cannot see any of this from my desk, otherwise I would be watching them all day long. But it was a nice day and I figured that I'd get the best shot if I went up the fire escape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.