My life, my lens

By JennyRampling

A full year - 365 blips!

I can't quite believe the big day is finally here! I've managed to take a full year of photos with no gaps. When I set myself the challenge I really wasn't sure I'd be able to do it but I'm so glad I made it.

I am officially addicted to Blip and it has become a big part of my life for lots of reasons. I love the challenge of always finding something different to photograph and taking a shot every day forces a more candid and honest view of my life. I don't always have the best memory but when I look through my blips I can easily remember the day and how I felt. I think my photography is slowly getting better but I still have no interest in the technical aspects of my camera so always shoot in auto. The Blip community is great for giving instant feedback and I'm always surprised by which photos end up being popular.

Blip has encouraged me to see the world through very different eyes. There is beauty, colour, light, texture and intrigue everywhere I look, all just sitting there waiting to be captured. I feel I have had my eyes opened to things I have missed in the past and I've learnt to stop and look around even when I'm really busy.

It's been an interesting year and I've grown and learnt a lot about myself and what I want in life. I also think using Blip to reflect has been a big part of the journey.

Blip also allows me to have insight into other people's lives around the world and the twists and turns they are going through. Seeing things through other people's eyes and the photos they take is always a constant inspiration. The internet has changed the way we see photography as we get so use to seeing high quality professional photos. With Blip being daily, you know that you will have good photo days and emergency blip days when you're really tired and not feeling creative. I love these moments as you really see daily life as it is.

I want to thank all my friends and fellow Blippers for stopping by my journal and encouraging me. I cant believe Ive almost hit 50,000 views! Special thanks have to go to Bikey Pete who introduced me to Blip and DaveR, Marieclaire60 and Noodle888 for all your support over the last year.

I had planned to set-up a special 365 shot today but Matt and I decided to go for a walk this afternoon to enjoy the autumn sunshine. Im pleased you can see Matt in the picture as he is such a superstar and always so patient when I'm taking photos. I'm sure there are lots of other Blip partners out there who get used to having to stop every ten minutes to take photos.

Anyway...end of my Oscar speech but its its funny that I've been more excited this year about my Blipday than my Birthday!


The Scoop nr City Hall, London





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.