LifeLines

By LifeLines

As many of you will know, I love bicycles of all kinds. I came across this abandoned cycle in the local village. I wonder how it came to be left, I assume no longer wanted. Luckily the bicycles Andy and I used for our little cycle ride before breakfast were in a better state of repair.

I’ve just finished my first holiday book - ‘Somebody I Used To Know’ by Wendy Mitchell. It is her story of being diagnosed with early onset dementia and of her determination to outwit the disease and her tireless work to change the way people with dementia are treated at work, by the medical profession, their carers and society more generally. A moving, insightful and inspiring book which left me feeling humbled by the bravery and determination that she showed in the face of trying to cope with her deteriorating condition and the lack of understanding shown by so many she encountered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.