The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Taking Care

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

I had the day off today to head up to Tain with The Explorer. She and her Mum had a review meeting about her sister’s care with the social worker and carers. I went to keep her company and to share the driving.

It takes about 4 hours to get up to Tain but it flew past surprisingly quickly as we filled it with chat (which did lead to us missing the turn off for the A9). TE was very apprehensive as there has been a breakdown in communication lately.

Overall, the meeting went well. It was a bit tense at the beginning but everyone stayed calm and it went much better than TE had expected. I had been asked to take minutes which meant I was in the unusual position of actually paying attention at a meeting. I didn’t even draw rude pictures on the notebook (although obviously I threatened to).

We headed back via the Storehouse for fish and chips. Once again, the journey seemed to pass quickly. I have often harboured the theory that speed of time passing is directly proportional to the quality of chat.

Today was difficult for my lovely friend and she handled it amazingly well. I am in awe of the strength she finds in her fragility.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.