Knife skills

By accident we have a new, super sharp knife in the house. I hate big sharp knives and do all my chopping with knives intended to chop tomatoes. Will adores it though, it was hard to get him to stop to put them in the pan to go with his bbq burger.

A lovely day, dog walk, supermarket, lunch in the garden, gardening, trip to the dump, bath, bbq. Will has done all his homework, year 7 homework appears to exclusively to require making posters, today Buddhism, Viking ships and doing geography investigations. Daisy has gone off for a wholesome birthday sleepover where they will eat spaghetti, put facepacks on and go to bed at 8pm. Targets are good.....

Today is a year since my dad’s funeral. I have been studious in ignoring all “this time last year” things, this is not an anniversary I wish to remember in any way. (Unlike his birthday which will remain a party each year). Tonight’s bbq though is using his favourite charcoal that my mum bought round last week. Turns out he’s right, it’s bloody amazing. Who knew you could so effectively have a favourite charcoal? It’s still all so shit without him, and I hesitate writing that because I will make people cry, but there you go. Plain facts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.