Available

Some people clearly know what they're "supposed to be when they grow up". They get on a track to become a physicist or a journalist or a this or a that.

When I inquired of God what He would best like me to be, my heart clearly said, "available".

So, while I was cleaning the bathtub at the Cottage tonight, I was pondering how easily we get to feeling like our lives are unimportant or lack meaning, yet the life defining moments for me when I was growing up, were often the result of one conversation here and one conversation there, often words spoken by a total stranger that I never saw again and, to this day, could not tell you their name.

They were just in the right place at the right time to have a huge impact on the direction my life took. Sometimes it was just a well placed question, like "why?"

To cause a young person to seriously ponder their true motivations, sometimes you do have to be a stranger. Someone who isn't vested in the answer, but asks...why?

I'm pretty sure we all have an impact on the people we least expect to. It is my prayer that my willingness to be available in unexpected places will be a key in at least one or two hearts before things are done. I'm sure the words I least expect to make a difference, are the ones that often stick the most.

I suspect a lot of bathtubs and toilets will get scrubbed in between the moments of impact...but I'll tell you this...those who like to have a clean bathroom when they visit the Cottage will never consider that a waste of my time either :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.