Busy

Catching up with WiFi and news. So dad to hear of the passing of WKF - Sir William Kerr Fraser, the former Permanent Secretary at the Scottish Office.

He was in charge when I was in Private Office in the early 1980s. A stickler for detail but also a great person. I had grown up round the corner from where he lived and knew the family well. Indeed I was speaking with Andrew just the other week at the Signet Library.

Most of the day was spent - again - in the garden as I picked stone chips, fragments of glass, screws, bolts, sand and cigarette butts out of the front lawn which had been used for months as a building dump.

The long grass was round the edges. The centre was a desert of dead moss.

In between the showers I got the work done and later in the afternoon managed to cut the lawn. It now looks like a tidy mess. There was of course one stone chip I missed but the mower survived.

Was sorry not to be doing the Kiltwalk this year but my left hip is playing up a bit. Too much gardening?

The garden is still colourful as this Cosmos bloom shows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.