Lightsaver

By Marginellaman

Fragility

Out in the forest hunting the elusive Fly Agaric. I asked a couple of riders if they had seen any but neither had. I think I'm too late in the season. So, I set about looking for other things.
Deep in a big old rotting tree trunk I came upon a colony of toadstools - all going withered and brown, but I glanced up to see a pair clinging to life in an overhang. If getting my last blip of fungi was a pleasant and comfortable experience, todays one wasn't. The tripod kept collapsing as the rotten timber kept giving way beneath, and goodness only knows what creepy crawlies were getting down my neck as more bits of decaying wood cascaded down from above. However I got my shot in the end.
Perhaps they are lasting longer than their neighbours because they are wearing woolly socks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.