Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Jersey Day Three

Another active day on the Coastal Walk - this time including moi! (7.3km, 13,167 steps and about 3 hours. Though the others did another 8km). Our team leader, Bob, worked out the best way to move us all around with cars at the beginning and end of the walk. And with me waiting in the middle.

One car was left in St Aubyn's, I was deposited at Le Corbiere Lighthouse, and the others went back along St Ouen's Beach to leave the car and start the walk. It was a couple of miles and not long before they arrived where I was - relaxing with a view of the lighthouse. I did rush over the hill and down to the carpark - for I remembered there was an ice cream van there. But it was CLOSED!

Then we walked along the old railway track walkway - a bit of a short cut, instead of going right round the coast (missing out St Brelade's Bay (but we'll go there another day, A). But it was flat, and I could join in. Actually, it was a super walk, mainly through forests, with lots of cyclists and walkers, some with dogs (Archie would have loved it). And there was a wee cafe about 2/3 of the way through, with a very welcome coffee, toilet, and - yes - a Jersey ice cream.

Onwards to St Aubin's, a gorgeous wee harbour town (it was the capital of Jersey at one point). JR and Anne walked on to St Helier, another three miles or so, Bob walked back to the car, while I took the wee Tourist Train back along. (I think I may have been the youngest passenger). But not before I had another ice cream while waiting.

We drove back to the other car, and checked out the beachside cafe for a late lunch. But the decision was made for us when they placed a blackboard out saying the kitchen closed at 3pm. It was 3.01 - so home for crackers and cheese and a meal later.

What a grand day out. Another full on day tomorrow for the walkers, though I may demur...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.