FloydOnFilm

By FloydOnFilm

Do They Still Make Them In Black?

Had a night at the football, Newcastle v Maritimo from Madeira who play in the Portugese league - big mistake. A poor game in a stadium not even half full so little or no atmosphere. The 1-1 scoreline was enough for Newcastle to qualify for the next stage of the competition but that is no comfort.

I was lucky enough (and old enough) to see Newcastle in the season they won the old Fairs Cup the European Games in that season were great nights, big crowds, great atmsphere and players who played with a bit of passion and in those days the players all wore black boots. If they were really daring they might have had three white stripes on them. There were 27 different players on the pitch at some stage tonight and not one of them wore black football boots. It was like a packet of Opal Fruits out there, there were red ones, orange ones, lime green and yellow ones and some were a combination of two or more colours. I don't know what my father would have thought.

I was determined that my blip today would be the best action of the night so here are the christmas lights in Northumberland Street.

I should have stayed at home and I know that Opal Fruits are not called Opal Fruits any more I just refuse to use their new name whatever it is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.