Stretton en le Field

I was driving back from meeting up with my niece to deal with a rather tricky matter when I noticed a brown sign indicating a “historic church” pointing to a small road to my left.

I’m curious (nosey) about this sort of thing so I turned off - and was well rewarded.

The church was built in the 14th Century fo serve the tiny village of Stretton en le Field, one of the “Thankful Villages” (indicating that none of their men were lost in the Great War - all eleven who went returned.)

The parish is now so small that the church is “redundant” - no services are held but it is consecrated ground and a Grade Two listed building.

It is currently technically in Leicestershire but was traditionally in Derbyshire, and it has an interesting past, with some Roman sites.

I thoroughly recommend a bit of gentle exploring, even when it’s pouring with rain.

Have a good weekend, friends.


EDIT : I glanced through the window to see my crazy squirrel in THE most embarrassing position.... extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.